Mount Athos

Mount Athos Halkidiki

Mount Athos, the monk community

The Athos peninsula is the easternmost of the three peninsulas that make Halkidiki.

This peninsula is covered by Mount Athos, which culminates in a marble pyramid with a height of  2033 meters. It concludes in Cape Nymfeo.

It is connected to Halkidiki the narrow isthmus of Xerxes, the length of 2 km. with a history from the Persian Wars in 480 BC.

Between the peninsula of Athos and Sithonia, the Siggitikos or the Mount Athos Bay is formed, while to the Northern east, the Gulf of Ierissos.

A few miles to the northern east of Athos, the largest pit of the Aegean is found that reaches from 80m depth, abruptly to 1070m.

Mount Athos is a self-governed part of the Greek state, which belongs politically to the Foreign Ministry and religiously to the jurisdiction of the Ecumenical Patriarchate of Constantinople.

It has territorially been divided into twenty self-rule areas.

Each territory consists of a cardinal monastery and some other monastic settlements around it.


Cruises from Ouranoupoli

Cruise to Mount Athos from Ouranoupoli

Blue Lagoon Round Tour – Sithonia’s Beaches +BBQ meal from Ouranoupoli

Blue Lagoon-Ammouliani’s beaches +BBQ meal from Ouranoupoli

Mount Athos-Drenia-Ammouliani from Ouranoupoli


See also:

Visiting Mount Athos